Subsection 2.-Prince Edward Island

The Government of Prince Edward Island consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Executive Council of Prince Edward Island consists of: the President of the Council, Premier, Minister of Education, Provincial Secretary-Treasurer and Acting Minister of Industry and Natural Resources; the Attorney and Advocate General; the Minister of Health and Welfare; the Minister of Agriculture; the Acting Minister of Public Works and Highways; and four Ministers without portfolio. The Legislative Assembly has 30 members who serve for five years, 15 of whom are elected on a basis of manhood suffrage and the other 15 elected by property holders only.

The salary of the Premier is \$4,500 and that of the Ministers \$3,000. Each member of the Assembly is paid the sum of \$700 for each session attended by him and an additional amount of \$300, tax free, as indemnity for expenses incurred. The Speaker and the Leader of the Opposition are paid a further additional sum of \$400 and an additional amount of \$200, tax free, for indemnity incurred.

13.—Lieutenant-Governors of Prince Edward Island, 1873-1949, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-49, and Present Ministry as at Aug. 1, 1949

Note. — The Lieutenant-Governor of a province is addressed "His Honour" and is also styled "Honourable" throughout his life. Where a knighthood or other honour was conferred during the term of office, it is shown. Certain Lieutenant-Governors were knighted after their term had expired. Legislatures and Ministries from Confederation to 1923 are given at pp. 75-84 of the 1924 Year Book, and for 1924-34 at pp. 110-118 of the 1938 Year Book.

Name	Date of Commission			Name	Date of Commission		
William Robinson	June	10,	1873	Benjamin Rogers	June	1,	1910
Sir Robert Hodgson	July	4,	1874	A. C. MACDONALD	June	3,	1915
THOMAS H. HAVILAND	July	10,	1879	MURDOCK MCKINNON	Sept.	2,	1919
ANDREW ARCHIBALD MACDONALD	July	18,	1884	FRANK R. HEARTZ	Sept.	8,	1924
JEDEDIAH S. CARVELL	Sept.	2,	1889	Charles Dalton	Nov.	19,	1930
GEORGE W. HOWLAN	Feb.	21,	1894	GEORGE D. DEBLOIS	Dec.	28,	1933
P. A. McIntyre	May	23,	1899	BRADFORD W. LEPAGE	Sept.	11,	1939
D. A. Mackinnon	Oct.	3,	1904	J. A. Bernard	May	18,	1945

Lieutenant-Governors

Legislatures, 1934-491

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of	
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution	
July 23, 1935 May 18, 1939 Sept. 15, 1943 Dec. 11, 1947	18th General Assembly 19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly		Sept. 25, 1935 Mar. 20, 1940 Feb. 15, 1944 Feb. 24, 1948	Apr. 21, 1939 Aug. 20, 1943 Oct. 27, 1947	

¹ The Ministries from 1934-49 were: 19th Ministry, sworn in Oct. 14, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. W. J. P. MacMillan, M.D., C.M.; 20th Ministry, sworn in Aug. 15, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. W. M. Lea; 21st Ministry, sworn in Jan. 14, 1936, under the leadership of Hon. T. A. Campbell, K.C.; 22nd Ministry, sworn in May 11, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. J. Walter Jones. ² Life of Legislature not yet expired.